The Best Laid Plans

I’m extremely lucky in that I am able to work a 4/10 week. That means that I work four ten-hour days and am able to have a three day weekend every week. I use Friday for running errands while Jeff is at work, Saturday for fun stuff, and Sunday for church and relaxing.

I am all about a to-do list and if I don’t have one made out everyday then something is wrong. This weekend was no exception. As it happened, I didn’t get all of Friday’s to-do’s done so those got pushed to Saturday. Saturday was crazy – we spent half the day car shopping. It ended up worth the effort because we were able to get the car we wanted but then the Friday do’s and most of the Saturday do’s didn’t get done.

My Sunday started late because I kept snoozing (the snooze button is evil by the way), and couldn’t get going. I was mad at myself for not getting a head start on my list, and all I could think about was how frantic the afternoon was going to be trying to fit everything in before work tomorrow morning.

Thankfully, that was when God decided to step in and remind me how melodramatic I am. The message at church today was “The Call R.E.S.T.” and the scripture lesson was Mark 6:30-34, 53-56. R.E.S.T. stands for Really Enter Sabbath Rest and it was just what I needed to hear today.

Yes, the laundry still needs to be done. Yes, the floor needs to be vacuumed. Yes, the stove just broke and we are waiting on the maintenance guy. Seriously. Ugh. But I had a wonderful weekend spent with friends and family and I’m blessed beyond words. So I’m going to go hug my sweetie, order a pizza and thank God that tomorrow is another day. The chores can wait.

xo,
Kelie

Leave a Reply

